Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Review: Anything He Wants by Sara Fawkes

anything he wants: dominated by the billionaire
Sara Fawkes
November 27, 2012 (as compilation)
St. Martin's Press
288 pages

Lucy Delacourt's temp position isn't quite her dream job but it pays the bills. The highlight of her day is riding the elevator in the mornings with a handsome stranger. Tall, dark, and sexy as hell, Lucy knows he's way out of her league, but a girl can look, right?

Everything changes the day the stranger seduces her. Completely out of character, she yields without a fight, but she has no idea her wanton acts with a man whose name she doesn't know will change her life forever. Because the sexy stranger is none other than Jeremiah Hamilton, billionaire CEO of Hamilton Industries, and one taste isn't nearly enough to satisfy his need.  As the billionaire pulls Lucy deeper into his world of high stakes business deals and ruthless takeovers, he demands nothing less than her complete surrender.  But even as enemies seek deadly revenge against him, she’ll discover that her greatest threat is falling for her fiercely guarded boss…and yielding to her own darkest needs.

This book was originally published as a set of 5 serial installments. I purchased and read the first two, and although I enjoyed them, I decided that $2.99 was just too much for a few chapters of a book that didn't feel like anything more than just that, a piece of a book. I don't want to pay $15 for any ebook, let alone one that read like a cheap romance novel. However, when I saw that the publisher had compiled all 5 to be sold as a complete work (with a cheaper total price tag, I might add), my interest was piqued. I had enjoyed the first two, so when I saw it up on NetGalley, I thought I'd give it another shot. I was pleasantly surprised.

This book starts off reading as some man's fantasy and less like a romance novel- it was just too unbelievable and "wham-bam-thank-you-maam". I was a bit worried that's all it was going to be. Things started happening way too quickly and we didn't see any reason to relate to these characters- Jeremiah came off as too cold and impersonal and Lucy was a boring doormat of a pushover despite her thinking otherwise. But, then the whole dynamic changed a few chapters in and I started to really enjoy the book. Although it was still first and foremost a super-steamy erotic novel, it also because a suspense with some action thrown in there. There's even a mini-cliffhanger at the end that surely is meant to leave open the possibility of another book/series.
Fans of Fifty Shades or Bared to You-style erotic romances will most likely really enjoy this book.

Anything He Wants: 4/5
Cover: 3/5
Audience Rating: R (explicit sex)

Note: I received an ecopy of this book from the publisher in exchange of an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment